Today in Tribe History: September 16, 1987

Joe Carter becomes the Indians’ first member of the 30-homer, 30-stolen base club with his steal in Cleveland’s 5-3 loss to the Seattle Mariners.

Carter earned his 30th steal of the season in the top of the fourth inning against Seattle starter Mike Campbell. After Julio Franco singled and stole second, Carter singled to left, moving Franco up 90 feet. With birthday boy Mel Hall, born in 1960, at the plate, Carter stole second. Hall used a sacrifice fly to center to score the Indians’ first run of the game which, at the time, left the club trailing 3-1.

Carter hit his 30th and 31st homers in the same game eleven days earlier in a 15-2 win in Boston. He finished the season with 31 stolen bases, 32 homers, and 106 RBI.

Grady Sizemore is the only other player in Indians history to accomplish the feat. He earned his in 2008.

Also on this date in Tribe history:

1924 – Hank Peters, future Indians general manager, is born.

1958Orel Hershiser, a member of the resurgent Indians pitching staff of the mid-1990’s, is born.

1965 – The Indians are no-hit by Boston’s Dave Morehead, 2-0.

1983Brandon Moss, a brief member of the Indians organization, is born.

1990 – Cleveland sends starting pitcher Bud Black to the Toronto Blue Jays for three propsects – pitchers Steve Cummings, Mauro Gozzo, and Alex Sanchez.

1995Brian Giles makes his Major League debut.

1998Manny Ramirez ties a Major League record by hitting five homers in a two-game span, including three straight on September 15. He will start the day’s game with one in his first at bat and added another in the fifth as the Indians defeat the Minnesota Twins, 8-6. Bob Tewksbury surrendered four homers on the day for Minnesota, including back-to-back blasts from Ramirez and Jim Thome in the first, another to Richie Sexson later in the inning, and to Ramirez again in the fifth frame.

2008, 2010, and 2012 – The Indians win in walk-off fashion.

Related Posts

Today in Tribe History: June 25, 2011

In one of the more unfortunate and unusual losses of the season, the Indians fell to the San Francisco Giants, 1-0, as the lone run of the…

Today in Tribe History: June 24, 1997

Less than three years after signing with the club, 21-year-old right-hander Jaret Wright makes his Major League debut in front of a packed Jacobs Field crowd and…

Today in Tribe History: June 23, 1968

For the sixth time this season, Luis Tiant throws a complete game shutout as he and his Cleveland teammates blank the Detroit Tigers, 3-0.

Today in Tribe History: June 22, 2001

The Cleveland Indians acquire the highly controversial John Rocker from the Atlanta Braves with a minor leaguer for relievers Steve Karsay and Steve Reed.

Today in Tribe History: June 21, 1956

The “Red Baron”, Rick Sutcliffe, is born in Independence, Missouri.

Today in Tribe History: June 20, 1951

Cleveland gets an impressive day at the plate from second baseman Bobby Avila as the Indians knock off the Boston Red Sox, 14-8.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.