Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Did The Tribe Win Last Night? | September 22, 2020

Scroll to top


No Comments

Today in Tribe History: November 13, 2008

Today in Tribe History: November 13, 2008

| On 13, Nov 2019

Starting pitcher Cliff Lee takes home the American League Cy Young Award after his 22-3 season for the Indians during the regular season. Cleveland is now home to back-to-back Cy Young winners after ending a drought dating back to 1972 with CC Sabathia‘s win in 2007.

The Indians’ lefty earned 24 of 28 first place votes for a total of 132 points overall. Lee, who was in his seventh season for the Tribe, engineered an incredible comeback season after going 5-8 with a 6.29 ERA during a 2007 season that saw him demoted to the minors and left off of the playoff rosters. He bounced back to lead the league in wins (22), winning percentage (0.880), shutouts (two), ERA (2.54), walks per nine (1.4), and home runs per nine (0.5).

Toronto’s Roy Halladay was second with four first place votes and 71 points overall after his 20-11 season with a 2.78 ERA and 206 strikeouts in 246 innings.

Lee received the honor one year to the day that former teammate Sabathia, who was traded by the Indians midseason, won the award in 2007 with a 19-7 record, a 3.21 ERA, and 209 strikeouts.

Lee became the third Indians pitcher to win the top pitching award in the league, following Gaylord Perry and Sabathia.

Submit a Comment