Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Did The Tribe Win Last Night? | October 25, 2021

Scroll to top


No Comments

Today in Tribe History: September 16, 1987

Today in Tribe History: September 16, 1987

| On 16, Sep 2015

1987Joe Carter becomes the Indians’ first member of the 30-homer, 30-stolen base club with his steal today in Cleveland’s 5-3 loss to the Seattle Mariners.

Carter earned his 30th steal of the season in the top of the fourth inning against Seattle starter Mike Campbell. After Julio Franco singled and stole second, Carter singled to left, moving Franco up 90 feet. With birthday boy Mel Hall, born in 1960, at the plate, Carter stole second. Hall would get a sacrifice fly to center to score the Indians first run of the game and at the time, left the club trailing 3-1.

Carter hit his 30th and 31st homers in the same game eleven days earlier in a 15-2 win in Boston. He would finish the season with 31 stolen bases, 32 homers, and 106 RBI.

Grady Sizemore is the only other player in Indians history to accomplish the feat. He earned his in 2008.

Also on this date in Tribe history:

1924 – Hank Peters, future Indians general manager, is born.

1958Orel Hershiser, a member of the resurgent Indians pitching staff of the mid-1990’s, is born.

1965 – The Indians are no-hit by Boston’s Dave Morehead, 2-0.

1983Brandon Moss, brief member of the Indians this season, is born.

1990 – Cleveland sends starting pitcher Bud Black to the Toronto Blue Jays for three propsects, pitchers Steve Cummings, Mauro Gozzo, and Alex Sanchez.

1995Brian Giles makes his Major League debut.

1998Manny Ramirez ties a Major League record by hitting five homers in a two-game span, including three straight yesterday and one to start today’s game, as the Indians defeat the Minnesota Twins, 8-6. Bob Tewksbury will surrender four homers on the day for Minnesota, including back-to-back blasts from Ramirez and Jim Thome in the first, another to Richie Sexson later in the inning, and to Ramirez again in the fifth.

2008, 2010, and 2012 – Indians win in walkoff fashion.

Submit a Comment