Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Did The Tribe Win Last Night? | July 22, 2018

Scroll to top


No Comments

Game #90: Cleveland Indians (46-43) at Tampa Bay Rays (46-44)

By Mike Brandyberry

Last night the Indians scored early, squandered run scoring opportunities and were able to hang on with Vinnie Pestano and the bullpen. Pestano worked an inning and one-third to bridge the gap through two jams and get to Chris Perez to slam the door. Zach McAllister worked six innings—in and out of jams of his own—to put the Tribe in position to win the game, 3-2.

The Indians gained a full game on the division-leading Chicago White Sox last night, closing to within three games. Likewise, the Detroit Tigers also won, moving to two and one-half games from the top spot and taking the wild card lead. The Indians are currently only a half game from the final wild card position. Eleven of the 14 American League teams remain above .500 and within three games of a playoff spot.

Cleveland will send Josh Tomlin (5-5, 5.45 ERA) to the mound to try and give the Indians a second victory in the four game series. Tomlin is pitching on an uncanny 11-days of rest since his last start. He last pitched against the Rays on July 5, winning 3-1. Tomlin pitched possibly his game of the year, throwing seven innings, allowing only a run and two hits on 88 pitches.

The Rays will counter with Matt Moore (5-6, 4.42 ERA). Moore will be making his first start against since he last faced the Tribe before the All-Star break. Moore was banged around for five runs and five hits in four and two-third innings. He struggled by walking five in his 7-3 defeat to the Indians on July 7. Any defeat of a left-hander is a quality one for the Tribe since they are 10-17 against southpaw starters this season. The Tribe had been on a four game winning streak against lefties until they were defeated this weekend by Aaron Laffey of the Toronto Blue Jays.

Game action will begin at 7:10 pm tonight from Tropicana Field. The Indians can be seen on SportsTime Ohio and heard on the Indians Radio Network.

Cleveland Indians Starting Lineup
1. Shin-Soo Choo, RF
2. Asdrubal Cabrera, SS
3. Jason Kipnis, 2B
4. Michael Brantley, CF
5. Jose Lopez, 3B
6. Carlos Santana, DH
7. Shelley Duncan, LF
8. Casey Kotchman, 1B
9. Lou Marson, C

Tampa Bay Rays Starting Lineup
1. B.J. Upton, CF
2. Carlos Pena, 1B
3. Ben Zobrist, 2B
4. Matthew Joyce, RF
5. Jeff Keppinger, 3B
6. Luke Scott, DH
7. Desmond Jennings, LF
8. Jose Lobaton, C
9. Elliot Johnson, SS

Photo: AP Photo/Al Behrman

Submit a Comment